R.I.P Robin Williams

 

 R.I.P Robin Williams

 

Pic of Robin

 

On August 11, 2014, this world lost one of the most beloved and talented comedians by the name of Robin Williams. It was reported that he committed suicide by hanging himself. Allegedly, he was suffering from depression and he was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease, the same disease that actor Michael J. Fox was diagnosed with.

America, I’m not going to make this a very long blog in regards to this topic and I most certainly am not going to make it sappy. However, I will say that depression is a relentless demon that no one should take lightly. If the reports are correct that Robin Williams suffered from depression, let me be the first to say that this is serious business.

I’ve experienced depression twice and it makes you not want to live…at all. I didn’t care about life because the problems seemed like they were too much to bear and I wanted nothing to do with this world. Yes, I had suicidal thoughts because I felt that leaving this world was the only answer to getting out of the mess that I was in. I just simply didn’t care about life anymore and I just wanted to be in heaven with God.

But then I started to think about the people that I would hurt if I chose to take my own life. See, if you choose to commit suicide, please remember that it’s not all about you; it’s about the other people that you hurt in the process. They have to live with the hurt that their loved one is no longer around. They have to deal with the pain of wondering what it is that they could’ve done to stop this act from happening and some people even go as far as to blame themselves, believing that they should’ve paid attention to the signs.

Let me be the first to say that I am NOT here to judge Robin Williams on the decision he made to take his own life. That’s between him and God. But speaking from my own personal experience, I had to seriously look for God to save me thru the turmoil that I was going thru. I still had a little bit of ‘fight’ left in me and because of that reason, I continued to look for God to fix the situation…and He did. My faith in God was the thing that kept me going and that’s why I’m here today.

For those of you that are contemplating suicide, please know that professional help is available. There are trained therapists that can help walk you thru whatever situation that you might be facing. God put them here for a reason so don’t be ashamed to reach out to them for help. Besides, once you realize how temporary your problem is, you’ll start to realize how beautiful life is.

 

Sonica

 

Leave a comment